Discussion:
[krita] [Bug 390343] New: Wishlist: Warning when saving an image would reduce the file size by over 50%
Add Reply
Scott Petrovic
2018-02-12 21:33:04 UTC
Reply
Permalink
Raw Message
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=390343

Bug ID: 390343
Summary: Wishlist: Warning when saving an image would reduce
the file size by over 50%
Product: krita
Version: git master
Platform: Other
OS: Linux
Status: UNCONFIRMED
Severity: wishlist
Priority: NOR
Component: File formats
Assignee: krita-bugs-***@kde.org
Reporter: ***@gmail.com
Target Milestone: ---

This wishlist item came from a conversation with some game developers in my
area.

This is the situation to try to make better.


You have a multi layered high res file that you have been working from. You are
ready to share it, but need to shrink the image size down a lot by collapsing
layers and shrinking the image size. Before exporting it you make some small
adjustments like sharpening and curves to help some areas pop. You like the
result so you hit Ctrl + S.


Result:
You just destroyed most of your working image that you have been building up.
Pain!

Expected:
A warning dialog with something like "Your file size has decreased by over 50%
since your last save. Are you sure you want to do this?"


While someone can easily get past the warning and still lose details from their
working file, I think this might help mitigate this situation. Not sure if
anyone else comes across this situation when working. It is pretty minor, but a
nice UX touch I think.
--
You are receiving this mail because:
You are watching all bug changes.
Scott Petrovic
2018-02-12 21:33:48 UTC
Reply
Permalink
Raw Message
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=390343

Scott Petrovic <***@gmail.com> changed:

What |Removed |Added
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Summary|Wishlist: Warning when |Wishlist: Warning when
|saving an image would |saving a file that has its
|reduce the file size by |file size reduced by 50% or
|over 50% |more
--
You are receiving this mail because:
You are watching all bug changes.
Boudewijn Rempt
2018-02-13 08:11:20 UTC
Reply
Permalink
Raw Message
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=390343

Boudewijn Rempt <***@valdyas.org> changed:

What |Removed |Added
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC| |***@valdyas.org

--- Comment #1 from Boudewijn Rempt <***@valdyas.org> ---
Are they sharing .kra files, or files exported to PNG?
--
You are receiving this mail because:
You are watching all bug changes.
Scott Petrovic
2018-02-13 22:55:47 UTC
Reply
Permalink
Raw Message
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=390343

--- Comment #2 from Scott Petrovic <***@gmail.com> ---
The end result is probably sharing a PNG or a JPG. It has to do with saving
over your existing KRA document.

Usually when sharing something online, you need to resize your image to be
smaller first. An easy way to do this is to resize your KRA image to make it
smaller, then export it as a PNG or JPG. That is where the problem happens. It
can be easy to forget that you resized it down to make it smaller. The next
time you press "Ctrl + S" to save, your KRA is now much smaller.

People that share a lot of artwork online might be able to understand what this
is. Not sure if they could explain the situation better than I am doing.
--
You are receiving this mail because:
You are watching all bug changes.
Loading...